Province of Alberta completes $600M fourth re-opening bond offering

On September 13, 2016, the Province of Alberta completed a fourth re-opening of the offering of series DL 3.30 per cent bonds due December 1, 2046, initially completed September 14, 2015, for an additional principal amount of $600 million.

The fourth re-opening of the offering was completed by a syndicate of underwriters. The syndicate of underwriters was led by CIBC World Markets Inc., BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc., RBC Dominion Securities Inc., National Bank Financial Inc., Scotia Capital Inc., and The Toronto-Dominion Bank, and also included, Desjardins Securities Inc., Casgrain & Co. Ltd., HSBC Securities (Canada) Inc., Laurentian Bank Securities Inc., Merrill Lynch Canada Inc., and Canaccord Genuity Group Inc.

The Province of Alberta was represented internally by Michael Gluckman and Christopher Ontkean of Alberta Justice and Solicitor General.

The underwriters were represented by Jon Truswell and Jordan Primeau of Bennett Jones LLP.